West Carteret High School Testing Code for the SAT/ACT


Please see the calendar on our homepage for testing dates and the test coordinator website for the most up to date information.


ACT Logo

The ACT College Admissions Assessment is given to all students in the 11th grade. It is a standardized test used for college admissions in the United States. It is currently administered by ACT, a nonprofit organization of the same name. The ACT test covers four academic skill areas: English, mathematics, reading, and science reasoning. It also offers an optional direct writing test.


AP CollegeBoard Logo

  • AP Calculus AB & BC
  • AP Statistics
  • AP English Language & Composition
  • AP English Literature & Composition
  • AP Studio Art
  • AP Music Theory
  • AP Human Geography
  • AP US History
  • AP European History
  • AP Government and Politics
  • AP Computer Science
  • AP Biology
  • AP Chemistry
  • AP Environmental Science
  • AP Physics

The College Board defines Advanced Placement (AP) courses as "rigorous, college-level classes in a variety of subjects that give students the opportunity to earn college credit while in high school by scoring a 3 or higher (5-point scale) on the AP exam associated with that course."

Advanced Placement (AP) is a program in the United States and Canada created by the College Board, which offers college-level curricula and examinations to high school students. American colleges and universities may grant placement and course credit to students who obtain high scores on the examinations.



The College and Career Readiness Alternate Assessments (CCRAA) are designed as alternate assessments to participation in The ACT and the ACT Plan. The decision to assess a student on the CCRAA must be made as part of the Individualized Education Program (IEP) process.


CTE Logo

The mission of Career and Technical Education (CTE) in North Carolina is to empower students for effective participation in the international economy as world-class workers and citizens. CTE programs are designed to contribute to the broad educational achievement of students, including basic skills, as well as their ability to work independently and as part of a team, think creatively and solve problems, and utilize technology in the thinking and problem solving process.

This test is given at the end of the course and will assess all Essential Standards covered in each class.


NC End-of-Course Tests

The North Carolina End-of-Course Tests are used to sample a student's knowledge of subject-related concepts as specified in the North Carolina Standard Course of Study and to provide a global estimate of the student's mastery of the material in a particular content area. The North Carolina End-of-Course tests were initiated in response to legislation passed by the North Carolina General Assembly - the North Carolina Elementary and Secondary Reform Act of 1984.

According to State Board of Education policy TEST-003, students who are enrolled for credit in a course in which an end-of-course (EOC) assessment is required shall take the appropriate EOC assessment at the completion of the course.



The NCEXTEND1 alternate assessment is a performance-based alternate assessment designed to assess students with significant cognitive disabilities who are being taught using the North Carolina Extended Content Standards. NCEXTEND1 alternate assessment items are grade-level, performance-based, multiple choice items that measure the standards specified in the North Carolina Extended Content Standards.


PreACT Logo

PreACT is a required 10th grade test that provides students with a structured testing environment similar to what they will experience when taking the ACT.. This helps students get comfortable with the test and understand how they're doing in core subjects. It also helps parents and educators identify areas where additional support might be necessary.



What is the PSAT? The Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test / National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT / NMSQT®) is a standardized exam administered by the College Board and co-sponsored by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) in the United States. Each year in October, the PSAT is an optional test given to 11th grade students.

The PSAT exam is composed of multiple choice questions and is similar in many aspects to the SAT exam. Taking this exam can make you eligible for the National Merit Scholarship Program.


WIDA Access For ELLs Logo

ACCESS for ELLs (ACCESS) is the collective name for WIDA's suite of summative English language proficiency assessments. ACCESS is taken annually by English language learners in Kindergarten through Grade 12 in WIDA Consortium member states.



WIDA Screener Logo
WIDA Screener Online is an English language proficiency assessment given to new students in Grades 1-12 to help educators identify them as English language learners (ELLs).


WorkKeys Logo

ACT WorkKeys® assessments are the cornerstone of ACT workforce solutions. The assessments measure foundational skills required for success in the workplace, and help measure the workplace skills that can affect job performance. Individuals who successfully complete the three WorkKeys assessments- Applied MathGraphic Literacy, and Workplace Documents -earn the WorkKeys National Career Readiness Certificate® (WorkKeysNCRC®), a valuable credential for students and job seekers seeking to verify foundational workplace skills.

Seniors who are identified as Career and Technical Education (CTE) concentrators are eligible to participate in the ACT WorkKeys assessment.